The Maryland/District of Columbia Minority Supplier Development Council presents

# 2013 Leaders Legends Gala

**Celebrating Leaders and Legends** 



**October 11, 2013** 

Gaylord National Resort National Harbor, MD



# The 2013 Sponsors



SIGNATURE: Northrop Grumman Corporation

#### **DIAMOND:**

AARP Capital One Microsoft Corporation Montgomery County Government Choice Hotels International Leftwich & Ludaway, PLLC Edwards & Hill Office Furniture

#### **PLATINUM:**

McCormick & Company Pepco Holdings Inc. Washington Gas

#### GOLD:

1st Choice Ace-Gnosis **Baltimore Gas & Electric Company Bazilio Cobb & Associates** BITHGROUP, Inc. **CR** Dynamics DCI **Financial & Realty Services** Gali Service Industries, Inc. Giant Hilton Worldwide **Ideal Electrical Supply Corporation** M&T Bank Marriott International, Inc. SB & Company Shah & Associates, Inc. Sodexo, Inc. Strativia Software, LLC The Aspen Group, Inc. **United States Postal Service** Verizon Communications

# **BRONZE:**

AT&T Bank of America Pearson, Inc



Established in 1972, the Maryland/District of Columbia Minority Supplier Development Council (MD/DC MSDC) continues to serve as the preeminent minority supplier development organization within our region. We are one of 36 regional councils of the National Minority Supplier Development Council (NMSDC)—the certification body of choice for corporate America.

Serving nearly 120 corporate members and over 450 Minority Business Enterprises (MBEs,) the MD/DC MSDC is "*The Capital Council*". Not simply because we are based in the seat of the nation's Capitol which provides our MBEs unparalleled access to federal resources, but, more importantly, because we strive everyday to be a leader in innovation, a conduit to key information and supreme in service to our constituents.

To us, our name "the Capital Council" is more than just a name. It is who we are. It is what drives us. Like a flag, it is a symbol of our resolve to be a champion of minority supplier development, to consistently provide access to opportunity, and to be the vital link in helping our corporate members and MBEs to achieve their business goals.

WelCometothe 32<sup>nd</sup> Annual

*32<sup>na</sup> Annual* Leaders & Legends Gala! Roland L. Jones – Vice Chair Prince George's County Government

Darlene Fuller – 1st Vice Chair and Co-Chair Membership Committee Sodexo, Inc

> Angela Clarke – 2nd Vice Chair Marriott International, Inc.

Arthur C. Stecklow – *Secretary* Gali Service Industries, Inc.

**Board of Director** 

Ralph Bazilio – *Treasurer* Bazilio Cobb & Associates, PC

Sherry Bellamy – General Counsel Leftwich & Ludaway, PLLC

Joan M. Hairston – Chair, Nominating Committee Washington Gas

Kenneth Kelly – Chair, MBE Input Committee Strativia Software

Charles Martin – Chair, Certification Committee M&T Bank

Charlie Partridge – Co-Chair, Membership Committee Pepco Holdings Inc.

Narciso C. (Pat) Patterson – Chair, Education & Training Committee Verizon Communications

Zenita Wickham-Hurley – Chair, Public Policy Committee Maryland Governor's Office of Minority Affairs

Janice Williams-Hopkins – Chair, Procurement Committee United States Postal Service

> Michelle Bell 1st Choice

Joni Blizzard Harris IT Services Corporation

John R. Brown JR Brown & Associates, LLC

David Corrigan Northrop Grumman Corporation

> Regiuel Days Microsoft Corporation

# THE 32ND ANNUAL

# LEADERSHIP AWARDS GALA COMMITTEE

Tracey Jeter, Jonice Adams, Veronica Walton, Renee Sandford & Lakeyia Thompson thank you for your support of the Maryland/District of Columbia Minority Supplier Development Council, *The Capital Council*.

## 2013 GALA COMMITTEE CHAIR

Dominica Groom, Marriott, Chair

## **NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE CHAIR**

Joan Hairston, Washington Gas

## **EVENT CONTRIBUTORS**

- Saschane Stephenson, Link Communications Group, Graphic Design & Layout
- Printing Compliments of AARP (Corporate Sponsor)
- Stacey Brown, Sign-A-Rama Silver Spring
- Jamel Thomas, Plan-Ahead-Events Washington DC
- Paul Thompson, The Photogenic Digital Show
- Jason Vaughan, Blue Chip Awards & Trophies
- And a host of dedicated volunteers

# SUNSET RECEPTION

merpor

# **AWARDS & DINNER**

# WELCOMING REMARKS

James Sturgis Director, Construction Giant

Tracey Jeter
President, Maryland/District of Columbia
Minority Supplier Development Council

# **MUSICAL SELECTION**

DINNER

**AWARDS PRESENTATIONS** 

**GREET THE BOARD** 

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

DANCING

#### Ken Davis Mainstreet Technologies, Inc.

Diane Dempsey – VMSDC Board Chair BAE Systems, Intelligence & Security Sector

> Sheila Dews-Johnson McCormick & Company, Inc.

> > Regina Edwards Capital One

Christina Fitts The Aspen Group, Inc.

> Chireda Gaither CSC

Claude Gregory Financial & Realty Services, LLC

Donna Jacobs University of Maryland Medical System

Frank Kelly Baltimore Gas & Electric Company

Lynn Livengood Northrop Grumman Corporation

> Fred Lona Hilton Worldwide

John Marshall – *Chair Emeritus* Ace-Gnosis

Sharon R. Pinder Mayor's Office of Minority and Women-Owned Business Development

> Charles Ramos CR Dynamics & Associates, Inc.

> > Mark Reed AARP

Jennice Samuels Capital One

Shreedhar Shah Shah & Associates, Inc.

> Robyn Snyder Lockheed Martin

Graylin Smith SB & Company, LLC Marcus A. Smith, Sr. M&T Bank

Robert Summers Government of the District Of Columbia

Thomas "Mike" Turner Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

> Dr. DeVance Walker, Jr. Montgomery County Government

> Dr. Robert Wallace BITHGROUP Technologies, Inc.

**2013 Board of Directors** 

Angela Wilkes Owens & Minor

Cora Williams Ideal Electrical Supply Corporation

> Roxanne Wilson Fannie Mae

# **ADVOCATE OF THE YEAR:**

- Sheila Dews-Johnson, McCormick & Company
- Sharon R. Pinder, Mayor's Office of Minority and Women-Owned Business Development
- Rupert Warner, United States Postal Service

# MINORITY SUPPLIER DEVELOPMENT LEADER OF THE YEAR:

- Michael K. Robinson, IBM Corporation
- Regina O. Edwards, Capital One

# **SUPPLIERS OF THE YEAR:**

#### CLASS 1: (REVENUE UP TO \$1 MILLION)

- Delta Decisions
- Healthy Choice
- Howard Painting & Drywall
- Sign-A-Rama Silver Spring
- The Hamilton Group

#### CLASS 2: (REVENUE \$1-\$10 MILLION)

- BithEnergy
- Blue Chip
- Edwards & Hill Office Furniture
- Oneida Communications
- RLJ Equity Partners
- SB & Company, LLC
- Shah & Associates

### CLASS 3: (REVENUE \$10-\$50 MILLION)

- Apex Petroleum
- Bazillio Cobb & Associates PC'
- Pacific Trade
- The Aspen Group
- Trinity Sterile
- World Pac Paper

#### CLASS 4: (REVENUE OVER \$50 MILLION)

- Infinite Computer Solutions, Inc.
- K. Neal International Trucks, Inc.
- Pyramid Consulting, Inc.

#### **CORPORATION OF THE YEAR:**

- IBMM&T Bank
- Northrop Grumman

Microsoft Corporation

PUBLIC ENTITY OF THE YEAR AWARD MBE INPUT COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN'S AWARD PRESIDENT'S AWARD CHAIRMAN'S AWARD REGINALD F. LEWIS LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD